Logo INRS
Français
INRS
  • INRS
  • Eau Terre Environnement
  • Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications
  • INRS – Institut Armand-Frappier
  • Urbanisation Culture Société
Version imprimable

Terence Ndonyi Bukong

Virology, Hepatology

 

Academic Background:

Dr. Terence N. Bukong obtained his Bachelor’s degree in 2002 from the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Buea (Cameroon); his MSc in Immunology and Allergy in 2005 from Nottingham University (England) and Ph.D. in Translational Medicine in 2009 from the School of Medicine and Medical Sciences, University College Dublin (Ireland). From 2010 to 2016 he was a post-doctoral fellow at the University of Massachusetts Medical School (USA) and became a faculty member at the INRS-IAF in 2016.

 

Research Interests:

The overall goal of the lab is to understand at the molecular level how infections by Hepatitis C virus (HCV) and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) cause persistent infection in individuals with diet- and/or alcohol associated metabolic syndrome. Chronic HCV and HIV infections independently, as well as, in association with metabolic syndrome caused by diet or alcohol abuse account for a significant cause of human disease worldwide. There are currently no vaccines against these viral infections and current treatments cannot cure HIV infection.

 

A better understanding of how metabolic disease states modulate host-pathogen interactions during these viral infections is needed to develop new and better treatments. Recently, we demonstrated that viruses can exploit alternative transmission mechanisms via host microvesicles which can compromise immune therapies and render chemotherapeutic agents less effective. Further, metabolic diseases due to alcohol abuse or diet have been shown to enhance cellular release of microvesicles (exosomes) independent of associated viral infection. While viral or metabolic diseases are usually studied individually, it has become obvious that the clinical situation often involves synergism between these conditions.

 

As such our research work in addition to deciphering single disease state mechanisms also focuses on more clinically relevant inclusions to cater for disease synergism that do occur in patients. Additionally, traditional viral studies have relied on classical cell types that support specific virus infections based on tropism factors. Based on our novel observations that microvesicles can mediate classical receptor independent virus transmission to naïve cells, our lab also focuses on the identification of non-classical cell types that can serve as reservoirs for replication competent viruses and their role in sustaining long term infections.  

 

Our lab uses in-vitro/in-vivo systems and diseased patient samples with the objective of identifying novel comorbidity disease pathomechanisms and therapeutic strategies with direct bench-to-bedside relevance.

Actualités

Logo INRS
English
INRS
  • INRS
  • Eau Terre Environnement
  • Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications
  • INRS – Institut Armand-Frappier
  • Urbanisation Culture Société
Version imprimable

Terence Ndonyi Bukong

Virologie, Hépatologie

Intérêts de recherche

Le principal objectif du laboratoire est de comprendre, au niveau moléculaire, comment les infections par le virus de l’hépatite C (VHC) et par le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine (VIH) entraînent des infections persistantes chez les individus présentant un syndrome métabolique lié à la consommation d’alcool et au régime alimentaire. Qu’elles soient associées à un syndrome métabolique lié à un mauvais régime alimentaire ou un abus d’alcool ou surviennent de manière indépendante, les infections chroniques par le VHC et le VIH constituent l’une des principales causes de maladie humaine dans le monde. Il n’existe à ce jour aucun vaccin contre ces infections virales et les traitements actuellement utilisés ne permettent pas de guérir une infection par le VIH.

 

Il est nécessaire de mieux comprendre la façon dont les maladies modulent les interactions entre l’hôte et les agents pathogènes lors de ces infections virales afin de développer de nouveaux traitements plus efficaces. Nous avons récemment démontré que les virus pouvaient exploiter d’autres mécanismes de transmissions par les microvésicules de l’hôte qui peuvent compromettre les immunothérapies et diminuer l’efficacité des chimiothérapies. De plus, il a été établi que les maladies métaboliques provoquées par l’abus d’alcool ou un mauvais régime alimentaire favorisaient la libération cellulaire de microvésicules (exosomes), et ce, indépendamment des infections virales associées. Bien que les maladies métaboliques ou virales soient généralement étudiées séparément, il est devenu évident que la situation clinique implique une synergie entre ces maladies. 

 

C’est pourquoi nos travaux de recherche portent non seulement sur le déchiffrage des mécanismes des maladies à cause unique, mais également sur des inclusions plus pertinentes du point de vue clinique afin de considérer le synergisme entre les maladies qui survient chez les patients. En outre, des études virologiques traditionnelles se sont appuyées sur des types de cellules conventionnelles qui favorisent les infections virales fondées sur le tropisme. En nous basant sur nos nouvelles observations, selon lesquelles les microvésicules peuvent servir d’intermédiaires à la transmission virale classique à récepteur indépendant aux cellules naïves,nous nous focalisons également sur l’identification des types de cellules non conventionnelles pouvant servir de réservoirs pour les virus capables de réplication et leur rôle dans le maintien des infections persistantes.

 

Notre laboratoire utilise des systèmes in vitro et in vivo ainsi que des échantillons de patients malades et a pour objectif d’identifier les nouveaux pathomécanismes de la comorbidité des maladies et les stratégies thérapeutiques novatrices présentant un intérêt direct pour les patients.

 

 

Actualités